Vmax - Bioinformatics Pathway

Concise overview of things learned

Technical Area

• Learning more R skills specific to Bioinformatics
  • Getting more comfortable coding in Python
  • Refreshing my knowledge of biology and diving deeper into molecular biology

Tools

• Google Calendar has been a life-saver! It’s easier to attend more meetings because all the times and links are in one place
  • Getting more comfortable with the STEM-AWAY platform, though the user experience is still a bit unintuitive to me
  • Slack and Google Drive have been working perfectly for me
  • Excited to learn how to use ASANA, that’s a new platform I have no experience with

Soft Skills

• Developing my ability to be patient and compassionate
  • Recognizing that things are super hectic and rather than complaining about the things that aren’t going well, offering solutions to the problems I point out
  • Being mindful of other people’s time
  • Being grateful for the amount of behind-the-scenes effort that us participants may not see, but which is clearly happening

Three achievement highlights

1. Attended almost all mandatory meetings in real time (I missed one R training session on Tues, July 9)
  2. Completed assignments on time
  3. Being proactive about asking questions and clarifying things I don’t understand

List of meetings/ training attended including social team events

Week 1

• Fri 6.29: Internship Kick-off
  • Mon 7.1: Bioinformatics Webinar
  • Mon 7.1: Team Meeting
  • Tues 7.2: R Training
  • Wed 7.3: Bioinformatics Webinar
  • Fri 7.5: R Training (only attended first hour)
  • Fri 7.5: Happy Hour

Week 2

• Mon 7.8: Team Meeting
  • Tues 7.9: Python Training
  • Wed 7.10: Logistical Training (only attended 1.5 hours)
  • Wed 7.10: Technical Training
  • Thurs 7.11: Office Hours
  • Thurs 7.11: Gene Team Meeting
  • Fri 7.12: Welcome Session
  • Fri 7.12: R Training
  • Fri 7.12: Happy Hour (only attended first 15min)

Goals for the upcoming week