Austin_Yang1 - Bioinformatics (Level 2) Pathway

Overview:

Technical Area:

• Reviewing R, which had become a bit rusty over the school year
  • Explored new packages in R, which may potentially be useful when offering technical guidance
  • Reviewed my responsibilities as PM Lead and the specific apps and programs I will need to use, including GitHub, Google Calendar, When2Meet, and Google Meets
  • Familiarizing myself with the new structure of the website, which had changed since last year
  • Along with my responsibilities as PM lead, tasked with leading a subgroup in BI Group D
  • Learning about document hosting sites and what they specifically do
  • Designing an example site that will be the basis for my site for the final project itself

Tools:

• STEM-Away
  • RStudio
  • R
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Meets
  • When2Meet
  • GitHub
  • DropBox
  • Google Drive
  • Airtable

Soft Skills:

• Time Management - Responsibilities are much more than when I was an intern last year. Needed to manage time better so I was able to finish everything in a timely manner
  • Technical Ability - Though my responsibilities are more focused on the logistics of projects, relearning R would let me provide technical assistance if needed. I can help the technical leads if there any anything that they might find confusing as well
  • Communication/Character - In order to my position to work I need to be both communicative and approachable to everyone. Everyone needs to be able to feel comfortable talking to me so I needed to do whatever I needed to do that
  • Logistical Ability - Learned a lot of new “logistics” and “group management” programs that help organize groups of large amounts of people. These skills will become crucial during the project itself

Achievement Highlights:

• Was able to meet the other BI PM Lead, Disha, who was also a high schooler in the same grade as I am