Tahsin_Rakib_Himi - Bioinformatics Pathway

Overview of Things Learned

Technical Area: As a recent graduate, I was struggling with R a lot as during my Undergrad the main programing language was MATLAB. It was interesting to learn more about GGPLOT as I was struggling to work with it in the past so being to learn from the training has helped me thoroughly.

Tools: The technical webinars and also the training for python and R has been extremely helpful. Especially the fact that we can go back to the drive and be able to revise the training as well.

Soft Skills: I have become more comfortable to voicing my opinions and questions to the project leads.

Three Achievement Highlights

1. Learned how to read a scientific paper in an unbiased way.
  2. Got better at using the various packages in R
  3. Got to know more people by connecting on LinkedIn

List of Meetings/ Training Attended Including Social Team Events

I have been trying my best to attend the meeting in person but if I am not able to I end up watching the recordings, as I was initially sick due to COVID. I am enjoying getting to know the team members and other people in the program.

Goals For The Upcoming Week

The goal for this week is to get to know my Team Magic better and work together on the deliverables and also try my hand at some of the newly acquired skills in R.

1 Like

Technical Area:

I learned how to perform various analysis using R. Learned how to perform quality control with Mas5 and also learned how to visualize and remove outliers on Week 3. For week 4, I learned how to perform Limma but the most important part of this past week was learning how to annotate genes and also how to import metadata.

Tools:
I used the R training with Yves as a tool to help me learn how to perform some of the above mentioned technical skills.

Soft Skills:
I picked up networking skills with the help of our amazing Project Management lead Isha and it helped me land a full time opportunity!